Beat up but faster

I arranged my runs this week so I had the weekend off, which means 2 miles today, 3 miles tomorrow, 4 miles on Thursday, and a 15-minute benchmark on Friday. I don’t like this one bit! I’m feeling beat up already and I don’t get a rest day for a while. This would be an excellent time to focus on getting extra sleep, I think.

This weekend is the backpacking trip I’ve been looking forward to for a while; I definitely won’t be able to fit any running in while I’m out in the field. But still, having to pack my week with training so I can do more activity on the weekend is really annoying! (The week after this one is work travel; I’m probably going to miss a bunch of workouts, so maybe I can rest up then.)

Anyway, today’s easy 2 miles went fine; I busted it out in 23:42 without much thought. My hips are still sore, but that doesn’t seem to have much impact on the runs so far. Fingers crossed that my legs hold up through the rest of the week.

Monday is laundry day and that’s a good thing because I have worn all the workout clothes I own– I pulled my oldest sports bra from the back of the drawer for my run today, put on an old pair of pants with holes in the thighs, and recycled a pullover from yesterday (ugh damp).

(tw weight crap) My body is so confusing lately. In the 2 months since the wedding, I’ve gained somewhere in the neighborhood of 7lb. I whined about this to my husband, who suggested that it might just be my body normalizing after the couple months of pre-wedding keto diet experiment. Mind you, I didn’t lose any weight on that diet, so that seems pretty ridiculous! Fucked up my set point and all I got was this lousy nothing at all. In the meantime, though, I am running faster than I ever have; paces I used to struggle to keep up are the new normal. So the extra weight doesn’t seem to be any kind of detriment to performance. So confusing…

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beat up but faster

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    My experience with dieting for weight loss has been that I don’t lose any weight on the diet, and when I finally give it up because it’s ineffective, I immediately gain weight. So your experience is not unique, fwiw. Still frustrating, though.

    • G says:

      Yeah, that’s always been my experience too, which is why I’m kicking myself for doing it. But every time I think it’ll be different…

Leave a Reply

