Dark times

This morning I dragged my sick and sad butt to the gym for the first time in 2 weeks and tried to pick up my plan where I’d left it, with an easy 2 mile recovery run. I finished the run okay, but spent the next half hour in a coughing fit. Progress? Not sure.

Things have been pretty somber in my world since the election. My state was decidedly blue, thank goodness. We’re bound to be highly affected by the results though; for example, if the president-elect follows through on his campaign promises my job is in trouble (did you see his plans for the EPA? earth and environmental science is going to be gutted by his presidency). A colleague has a trans kid and is worried sick; immigrant friends are nervous. I’d been kicking around the idea of trying for a kid, but now I’ve decided that is right out because I can’t feel good about bringing a daughter into a world where we’ve normalized men that say it’s okay to just "grab" them.

And I’m seeing the extent of my privilege. My reaction as a white person is "this sucks, but we just gotta power through 4 years" but my husband, a POC, is actively threatened. My Jewish friends see anti-Semitism flaring around them and feel afraid to leave their houses. Black friends’ children are getting harassed in school by white classmates. And these are just people I know personally! There’s more awful reactions out there, Muslim women getting their hijabs torn off, backlash against gay folks and immigrants being told to "get out of my country". It’s a dark time.

So yeah. I don’t know if I have more to say, but things are feeling a little hopeless now and I’m worried.

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dark times

  1. Thanks for putting your thoughts down, I’ve been a bit numb to it all. Even though I’m gay, I still have an incredible amount of privilege being a white man, so while I see things getting very, very hard for me, I can see a glimmer of hope and that’s enough for me to want to fight.

    The latest episode of the podcast “Throwing Shade” has been great for me, it’s a good mix of misery, rallying the troops and sheer grit and determination to fix this, you might want to check it out.

    Things are going to suck, especially for any minority (yourself and myself included), but I have to believe that we can make the world better for those around us.

  2. Pingback: 2016 in review | Running While Fat

Leave a Reply

