Some running, and a plea for dark times

Today was supposed to be a rest day. I had a long run scheduled for this weekend, and guess what else is supposed to happen this weekend? An ice storm. So I decided it should get done a little sooner. (A snowstorm is fun to run in, at least before there’s a lot of accumulation… ice storm though, that just sucks.)

I went to the gym right away this morning and got started plodding along. My tracker and the treadmill had some discrepancies again, so I edited the tracker to match the treadmill time, which will hopefully help the tracker calibrate. It took me 44 minutes to run 3.5 miles while zoning out watching the Golf Channel. Who wants to watch golf at the gym?

There’s a lot going on in my life right now, and all of it happening with the terrifying drone of current events in the background. It’s strange; since the Dubya administration I’ve been joking that my fellow coworkers and I would be "first against the wall" but now the witch hunt for environmental scientists has actually started for real. And there’s nothing we can do but continue to do our jobs, put out good science, and hope that other folks will somehow lobby for us to be able to continue doing that and that the data sources will continue to be supported.

And that’s just the part that affects me directly; there’s so much else. I’ve been pulling back from media a lot; some of it is unnecessarily sensationalist but there are horrifying things out there (Syria, DAPL protests, anti-choice legislation, etc) that I don’t have the bandwidth to process.

Welp, this turned dark! Be good to each other, guys. We all need it now.

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Some running, and a plea for dark times

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    Some positive news is that the DoE refused the transition team’s request for names. I don’t know what will happen when he takes office, whether he will have the power to command that. Hopefully DoE will list every single employee including facilities management, IT, and cafeteria staff as having attended a climate conference. I would like every federal agency to do the same, from DHHS to the GPO. It’s like if they start a Muslim registry, we all have to sign up.

    I’m having a very difficult time handling the stress right now. I’m glad you’re running.

    • G says:

      Yeah, I’m glad the DoE leadership is pushing back. Thankfully, everyone’s getting ready to dig in and resist. Initially, people asked “So, are you getting ready to find new jobs/flee the country/etc?” and we all said NO, we’re staying here and continuing to do our best work for as long as we can. For all the crap people say about the civil service, in my experience it’s full of incredibly dedicated folks.

      I have a lot to say on this topic, but it’s not really for this little blog…

  2. It’s so sad, everything that’s happening in current affairs at the moment… especially Trump.

  3. Pingback: 2016 in review | Running While Fat

Leave a Reply

