In a hurry

On Wednesdays I run an early meeting so it’s always a challenge to get my workout in, plus to add to the chaos my train was very late and that shrunk the window even further. When I finally arrived, I had 30 minutes total floor time (which isn’t that bad, I guess…) I spent the first 20 minutes on upper body lifting– 2 sets of 10 of bench, biceps, triceps, OHP, rows, and goodmornings. The last 10 were on the elliptical, and then I rushed to the locker room and showered as quickly as possible before heading back for meeting prep.

It’s the time of the year when everyone’s talking about diets and cleanses and new workout plans and there’s so much unsettled, dissatisfied energy floating around. It’s so hard to avoid! Inevitably I feel like I should be doing something different. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, but the trick is to channel it into something productive, not destructive.

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In a hurry

  1. Hey — you are the first person I have ever heard (read?) say something I totally believe and have said before. January in a gym is full of unsettled, dissatisfied energy and (at least for me) it is not a good place to be. I tend to combat it by going to the gym at 3:45 a.m. Yeah, that’s crazy in its own right, but I prefer positive energy, especially when I’m working out — and since I really like being in the gym alone my energy is positive. Happy 2017!

    • G says:

      3:45am?! I salute you! By some miracle, the time I go to the gym has mostly stayed the same late-morning crowd doing the same thing, and I appreciate that. Happy 2017 to you too, and good luck with the wedding planning– congrats! :)

Leave a Reply

