Rules of engagement

I’ve been feeling a little loafy lately, and Angry Hamstring wasn’t so angry this morning so I decided it was time to get back on the treadmill. 30 minutes wasn’t too bad, though there were some issues in that right calf-leg-butt complex. I finished it up with another 15 minutes on the elliptical, and had a nice stretch. My shoulders and pecs are sore after yesterday, to the surprise of no one.

Unless something stupid happens in the next day or two (always a possibility these days) I will not be marching this weekend. I’m looking forward to it. The last two weekends have been march one day, social obligations the other and it’s been a while since I had a day to chill and not worry about cooking for a bunch of people or carrying signs around.

I’ve been kicking around some ideas for a more formalized set of ground rules to help keep myself focused, to be able to do activism that is impactful while avoiding distractions and stress from the 24/7 news cycle and people who are relentlessly negative (on both sides, I might say). I feel like there are places to engage and places where I can pull back. Would love to hear if you guys are having similar thoughts, and what’s been on your minds.

One of the "pull back" places is talking about science with people whose religious views hold that rejecting science is a demonstration of their faith (this includes a number of my family members). Their god > me. Trying to have a nuanced discussion about climate change and the data record with people who believe the earth is only 6000 years old is pointless, and I’m tired of being sea-lion’d with "Don’t you think we should hear from the people who think the climate isn’t changing, too?" and derailed by their bad "creation science" studies.

For example, my aunt ended a wearying conversation by claiming that Mount St Helens eruption material from 1980 was carbon-dated to millions of years ago and therefore all carbon-dating is incorrect. I am neither a geologist nor an expert on carbon-dating, so I had to sigh and say, "I don’t know about that, but I’d love to see the study." The next day, after she’d left, a quick google search provided ample debunking, not that she would’ve believed any of it. Next time I should just keep my laptop handy and do some real-time fact-checking. (Didn’t I just say I wasn’t going to bother with that anymore?)

About G

I'm running while fat. And learning other fun ways to honor my body.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rules of engagement

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    I’m definitely suffering from “outrage fatigue.” One of the darned things about this situation is sussing out what is a real danger and what’s just drama and hype. Congress can put forward all kinds of crazy bills, but many of them don’t have a snowball’s chance in getting passed. But it takes time to research which is which. The president doesn’t have unlimited power, even via executive order, but again deciding which threats are real and which are drama is exhausting.

    Somewhere or other I read a recommendation to focus on a couple things that are important to you personally. We can’t each take on ALL of it. Maybe it’s environmental concerns, maybe it’s immigration, maybe women’s health. Not that they aren’t all important, but maybe we’d be more effective just choosing two…

    I dunno. One of the places I definitely draw the line is talking to anyone who *still* supports Trump at this point. Waste of breath…

    • G says:

      I haven’t found the fortitude to cut my offending family members out of my life, but today I got real close, as my fascist aunt decided to post a “news” article directly attacking my work. I hate not responding to shit like that, because either way I feel like I’m legitimizing it– If I don’t respond, I’m saying it’s true and unchallenged; if I do respond, I’m engaging in an argument that will fall on deaf ears. My husband says I should just block her and save myself the stress.

Leave a Reply

