Serious lifting is serious fun

I’m pretty serious in the gym. I’m working hard, lifting heavy things and usually I’ve got loud, epic metal in my ears with lyrics like

Bear skin on my back
Wolf skull on my head
Valhalla awaits me
When I’m dead

But I’m almost always in a cheerful mood. Today, too– even when I was grinding my way through stupid squats sets and demoralizing singles.

Squat – 5x135lb, 5x155lb, 1x175lb, 1x185lb
Bench – 5x135lb, 2x5x145lb, 1x155lb, 1x160lb (new max!)
Accessory biceps, triceps, OHP, one-armed BO dumbbell row, leg press

I went for a 30-minute run yesterday (that I forgot to blog) and in retrospect I shouldn’t have done squats today; the run tweaked my lower back slightly and that was reflected in the difficulty I had with the squats.

Last weekend’s music festival trip was… eh. One of my favorite bands was the very first one to play on Friday, and from then on it was a bunch of stuff that didn’t grab us (with a couple of exceptions). It was kind of disappointing. We actually weren’t planning on going this year, until that band was announced (as much as we spent on the festival, it’s still cheaper and easier than flying to London to see them!)

And as usual, there was a complete lack of women and minorities on stage, which is really disappointing. I know prog is a genre full of old white dudes but ugh. It would be great to get some more young bands in too…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

