Deadlift testing

Today was the day when I finally got around to testing a deadlift max. I followed that with more lighter squats, which felt really solid and my back felt strong. (Maybe I should bench -> DL -> squat.) And finished with 20 minutes on the elliptical because why not.

Deadlift – 5x185lb, 5x205lb (reset), 1x225lb, 1x245lb, 1x265lb
Squat – 5x45lb, 5x115lb, 2x5x135lb

I gripped ‘n’ ripped my way to 245, and then the fear started to set in. It took me a while to talk myself into 245, and then after that I loaded it to 265 and literally stared at it for 10 minutes trying to psych myself up. I started one and dropped it after barely trying at all, stared at it for another 5 minutes. J came in and asked me what was going on and I talked with him a little bit. ("It gets lighter the longer you stare at it, right?") He gave me some encouragement and I guess that reset my brain enough to finally give it a proper try and it just went up. So it worked out, I can DL last year’s max in practice and I didn’t hurt myself trying. I’ll need that confidence boost.

I have good news about next week’s travel! There’s a Crossfit gym about 3/4 mile from my hotel, and I emailed them to ask if I could pay to come in and lift. They gave me an enthusiastic "yes!" and said it would be $50 for the week. Fair enough! So I don’t have to give up my training when I’m traveling. I’d like to spend the week really focusing on squats, since that’s where I have the least confidence right now. Hopefully I can fit in gym time during my meeting… or at least in the morning before.

Since this comp is just being held at my work gym over a couple days (so people can fit it into their schedules) they’ve asked us to bring our own spotters. I asked J and my other work friend. Now this other friend is a good guy, but he’s not a powerlifter. I can’t claim to be on any kind of optimized training regimen, but $friend is one of those guys who likes to do 500 bicep curls to get a pump and never touches the squat rack– and he tries to give me advice about how I should be lifting. Today, he said I should practice bench with my feet off the floor because that way I can isolate my chest. Buddy, I don’t want to isolate anything– I want to put another 10lb on that bar. Feet on the floor. (Bodybuilder mentality, argh.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

