A sigh of relief

I headed to the gym first thing this morning to get my workout done before my busy day. My goal lately has been to get back into running condition, so I hopped onto the treadmill for what used to be routine– 3 miles. It took some persistence and sweat, but I finished the whole thing without any walk breaks– it’s been a while since I did that.

Today I think I wrapped up my work on a project that’s been going on for about 2 years. I’ve been working at my job for about 10 years now, which in many workplaces is a long time, but here that means I’m near the bottom of the seniority pile and there are a lot of ladder rungs over my head. So despite having a good amount of responsibility and projects to manage, I have very little connection with the folks "up the chain" (which drives me crazy a lot).

This project has been one of the worst in that regard– it has a a lot of formality and needing things from people who I’ve never met, many many levels above me. I am not plugged into the process or the results at all, so it was really hard to get my head around and I had to basically learn everything from the ground up. It’s been a long series of seeking approvals from many levels and departments.

But today I finally got all of the pieces of the package together with their approvals, so I gritted my teeth, bundled it up, and sent it off to the very much higher-up who would present it. I was expecting a turnaround time of days, but within 30 minutes he’d sent me an email thanking me for the "thoroughness" of the package. That was an enormous relief. I feel like this calls for a nice drink with dinner tonight.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

