Total-body mediocrity

With my energy for cardio still lagging, I decided it would be a good day for some total-body training with weights. I’m not sure if my short workout achieved this lofty goal, but I did make an effort to hit some stuff that I often avoid:

Bench – 3x5x135lb
Biceps – 2x10x45lb
Squat – 2x10x95lb (after yesterday’s squats…my quads are like "wut u doin")
Leg press – 2x10x200lb or so
Side bend – 2x10x25lb kettlebell, each side
Plank – 2x60sec
Bodyweight calf extensions, on step – 2×20
Walking lunges – 2×10

I turned my head over to look in the mirror when I was doing lunges (I thought this was not a great idea, but it seems that this is only true for back-loaded exercises) and had a small revelation. I’ve always thought that I have poor hip flexibility and a short stride length and my lunge is very short and weird. It isn’t! It’s actually as long as it should be. That doesn’t mean I’m off the hook; my rubberbands are still really tight when I’m doing the exercise. But my form isn’t awful-awful.

It’s also hot as bauwls here and hence sleeveless season. I admit that a small motivation today was to get a little bicep pump. SUNS OUT GUNS OUT. My upper arms are big and squishy but if the light’s right or if I’m carrying something I have some definition there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

