First swim of the year!

It’s that time of year again! The kids are out of school and the pool is open.

It opens at 12:30 and I was there at 12:31 with my goggles and swim cap, ready to get started on my laps. My husband came too, and patiently toodled around in the water while I went back and forth a billion times. Not really a billion. I did 2 sets of 10 laps, it took about a half an hour, not bad for the first of the year.

We also got a new crop of lifeguards, high school kids there for a summer job. I watched an old man (white, heavy southern accent) yelling at one of the lifeguards (black, young) about something or other, being an absolute butthole to the guy. I wasn’t sure that me intervening would help– the lifeguard didn’t appear too bothered by this random old jerk– but another pool-goer jumped in, a Latina woman who told him to stop cursing around the kids and to apologize to the lifeguard. He kind of did (though his apology ended with him cussing at her) and everything seemed to settle down, though the mood was kind of uneasy. We left shortly after.

My neighborhood is one of the most diverse places in the country (which is really cool) but it hasn’t been that way for very long, and there are lots of long-time residents who resent the change. It gets kind of weird sometimes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

