Moment of sanity at the gym

The gym is where everything makes sense and life is difficult in a manageable way. The rest of the time, not so much. More on that later, but first the workout. It was wonderful to just drop everything and focus on lifting stuff for a bit.

SS#1
Bench – 4x5x115lb
Biceps – 3x10x45lb
Triceps – 3x10x45lb
OHP – 3x10x45lb

SS#2
B/O row – 3x10x65lb
Upright Smith machine row – 3x10x65lb
B/O one arm row – 3x10x20lb, each side
Lat PD – 3x10x35
Delt raise machine – 3x10x35

So, yeah. I have SURPRISE TRAVEL next week to attend a 3-day meeting. I’m supposed to represent my entire worksite (~50 people) and their needs in a planning process about an issue critical to folks continuing their work mission. I have 3 days to talk with people here and then prep with the key points and compile the requirements. My boss did no prep and is abroad now so I’m flying blind.

That’s obnoxious enough on its own, but mix it up with my social anxiety and it is a friggin minefield. The combination of strangers that I’ll continue to work with for 2 years and high-stakes communication is panic-inducing. I talked with my husband about it last night– I need take time to be sure my words are well-considered, but I also need to be able to quickly jump in to a fast-paced conversation with relevant, fully baked ideas, and be prepared to interrupt boorish nerds*. His suggestion, which I like but it’s going to be HARD, is to do my own planning exercise for what might happen in the meeting and prepare responses and a strategy for making sure the things I want to discuss get attention. Maybe someday I’ll be able to go to a meeting without days of prep and planning, but this is not that time.

Also, I need a damn promotion. Have I mentioned I’m in the bottom pay band here and I’m doing this stuff?

* We had a pre-meeting webex yesterday and I asked a question about network access to the other sites (which has been a problem for us, people need to be able to connect to their servers). The dude running the meeting ‘answered’ my question by mansplaining to me what an IP address was and how there was this thing called a firewall. He managed to find the one button to push that would send me completely off the rails! If he plans on talking to me like an idiot at the face to face, there’s gonna be some flipped tables.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Moment of sanity at the gym

  1. How’d that crazy impromptu presentation go? I bet you knocked them out of the park! Confidence in the gym = confidence in the office. Love your site by the way.

  2. Pingback: I can still run! | Running While Fat

Leave a Reply

