My workout was bomb

When I was young and slang-y, we used to say things were "the bomb" (and later, "the bomb dot com" but that was strictly ironically). Nowadays kids just say something is "bomb" and leave out the article. I feel old.

Anyway yes! my workout went well today and I’m pleased with how my lifts are coming along. It was a nice change. I’m still dialing in my setup– turning my toes out just a hair and placing my hands a little wider lines me up nice for deadlifts, and taking a pretty wide squat stance relieves a lot of the strain on my lower back and helps me keep my knees out, while a narrower hand position gets the bar lower and helps me secure it on my traps. My back is a little tired after the workout but not painful. Squats went so well, in fact, that I belted up for a couple heavy reps that went up super easy (and built a lot of confidence). This was a long workout but definitely worth it.

Squat – 2x5x45lb, 2x5x115lb, 5x135lb, 5x5x160lb, 1x175lb, 2x185lb
Deadlift – 5x205lb, 5x245lb (as singles)

You may have noticed that the two accessory lifts, row and OHP, have been missing from my last few workouts. I just don’t have the time for them. Tomorrow I’m planning a bonus bench session and I’ll try to fit them in.

This weekend is a feasting weekend– I have a Seder to go to on Saturday, and Easter dinner with the extended in-laws on Sunday. I see great piles of brisket and ham in my future…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment