I DID IT!

Well, today was the LAST WORKOUT of NRoL4W. Really! The very last one. I’ve been at this since August 2013 and working through the program has become so ingrained in my life that I’m not sure what I’m going to do with myself now!

This workout wasn’t glorious and wonderful, though. It started off okay with heavy deadlifts (165lb again, that was really tough to get through). But then I started up the squats and felt something weird in my knee/quad/thigh area, some kind of frictiony/scraping weird feeling in the muscles at the bottom of the lift. I finished the set, and did the shoulder presses, step-ups and pulldowns too but the step-ups were weird too. I tried one more set of squats with just bodyweight and finally decided to scrub both lower-body exercises. I finished up everything else but it was disappointing to not be able to fully complete my last workout. (I suppose I could’ve tried to blow through it for pride’s sake, but why mess around with my knees?)

I think I’ll need a few days to reflect before I write more detailed thoughts about my experience with the program, but I went in without real expectations and I’ve been pleased with how it turned out in the end. (How did I start up and stick to a year-long program with no strong expectations? The power of my routine is staggering.)

The first order of business, however, is some well-deserved rest. Stage 7, with its long-ass sets, has beat up my body in a spectacular way and my forearms and hands and knees and feet and hips all need a chance to recover.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I DID IT!

  1. Gingerzingi says:

    Congratulations! That is indeed a mighty undertaking.
    You did the right thing by scrubbing the lower body stuff. Weird frictiony scrapy feelings definitely should not be ignored.

    • G says:

      Thank you!

      My knee is still acting up, even. I’m kind of bummed, because I’d love to jump in and do some running but I’m going to give it some time. Sigh. The scrapy feels were coming not from my knee but from my quad, which leads me to think that it’s some kind of inflamed connective tissue scraping around in its compartment. Ew.

Leave a Reply

